Start the countdown…

In 27 days, I’ll be waking up on the first morning of medical school. Some days I still can’t believe that it’ll be me in a white coat and comfortable shoes. It’s funny, though, because I’ve wanted to be a doctor for so long! I can remember being in 10th grade biology class and pretending (in my head, of course) to be “operating” on whatever specimen we were working on that week – and yes, occasionally I still pretend that I’ll look as good as Kate Walsh while I do it :).

I’m wondering, are any of you working in the jobs you thought you’d be while growing up? And how do you feel about your role in the workplace?

I know this is a big subject, but it’s been on my mind ever since Joanna ran a great series about working moms, and I read Anne-Marie Slaughter’s piece in the Atlantic. I literally can’t stop thinking about my career and what it means to me, how much of my life it will be occupying, and how crazy-long it could go on (30 years? 40??).

I’m happy that I’ll get to do something intensely rewarding for me, and hoping that it won’t take (too) much away from my partner, and kids if we end up having them.

What are your thoughts? Are you doing the job you always wanted? Do you find that you can achieve a balance in your work and personal life?

xo

Leave a Reply

