J Crew and My First Personal Stylist

Several weeks ago, I decided to take advantage of J. Crew’s Very Personal Stylist offering and sent an email to Stacy, a VPS. According to J Crew’s website, Very Personal Stylists “will help you put it all together – they’ll pick the best fits, colours and styles from each collection for exactly what you need. They’re serious style experts”. Here’s what happened…

I told Stacy that I have lots of neutrals (if you click back through the archives, you’ll see examples, like here, here and here). I want to add more colour that will fit into my professional wardrobe. It’s important to me to be able to layer, since some days I’m running around and others I’m freezing in the library. And, of course, I need to be comfortable :).

Here’s what she picked out:

Keeper Chambray Shirt #44875 – Tippi Sweater in Heart Me # 93517 – Ankle Stretch Toothpick Jean in Garment-dyed Twill # 62443 – Mila Dot-print Ballet Flats # 18909 – Selima Sun® for J.Crew Sophia Sunglasses # 79144 – Tie-neck Top # 97971 – Schoolboy Blazer in Wool Flannel # 48682 – Goldsign® Jenny Jean in Aphrodite Wash # 17037 – Toni Tassel Loafers # 10194 – Edie Purse # 44804

Collection cashmere Boyfriend cardigan # 49290 – Perfect Shirt in Open Check Thomas Mason® Fabric # 97068 – Café Capri in Wool # 49389 – Leather Round-buckle Belt # 15692 – Mila Cap Toe Leather Ballet Flats # 13463 – Workwear Shirtdress # 78958 – Little Edie Purse # 86724 – Collection Nora Calf Hair Ballet Flats # 49182 – Leather Round-buckle Belt # 15692

I loved the first option of red denim, chambray (which I already have!), and the adorable heart me sweater, but thought the rest of the looks were so-so. The only one I would really call professional is the mustard pants and boyfriend cardi on the bottom left, and it’s a colourful professional at that. Guess that’s J. Crew for you!

What do you think? Would you try a Very Personal Stylist? xo

Leave a Reply

