Happy Monday and This Week’s Workouts

28df5fd39640c48ae424dbe1059d82f1

Good morning!

I didn’t get much in for workouts last week, and I’m getting a little worried about my mileage for this year’s running goal. Last year I was aiming for 1000 km, and ended up running just under 1300. So, this year I decided that I would aim for 1400. Well, I guess I didn’t really consider a busy clerkship and rough winter, so I’m not quite where I should be a quarter of the way through the year (!!). That’s ok, though, I’ll just have to pick it up from here. Cross your fingers that Spring arrives soon!

Monday – off

Tuesday – 2.9 mi run at 8:05/mi

Wednesday – 3 mi run at 8:03/mi

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 4.43.38 PM

Thursday – Barre class! It was such a snowy and cold week here in Ottawa. By Thursday I could not face another blustery (and therefore short!) run outside, so I started googling some fitness classes. I ended up stumbling across InsideOut, a barre studio not too far from where I’m staying, and decided to check it out. I think my favourite thing about it was the style/feel of the studio! I’m always in favour of workouts that call me gorgeous at 6 AM :). The class is based on lots of very small, isometric movements, and it BURNED. I was glad to feel sore all over the next day (I always love that my body is telling me I had a great workout) but I also felt that I didn’t use much energy – no cardio leaves me feeling antsy.

Friday – 2 mi run at 8:06/mi

Saturday – off

Sunday – Barre class Went to another class on Sunday since it’s been cold and overall I enjoyed the atmosphere. I don’t think I’ll be back, though. The first class was a free trial, but this one was $22! For only 60 minutes it’s a little too pricey.

Totals: 8 mi, 184 min

(image via)

Leave a Reply

