Online to On the Table

46c1de246d70d6f3878351cc065ea06b

In the interest of full disclosure, I have to say that most weeknights I’m pretty lazy about dinner, especially if I’m cooking for one. I end up eating some version of salad + some kindof protein, and then snacking through the rest of the night when I get hungry. Yesterday, for example, after I had salad and 3 turkey meatballs, I also ate popcorn, baby carrots, a hard-boiled egg, raspberries and a yogurt cup. I love snacking but I also miss sitting down to dinner with my family at the end of the day. So, I thought I’d try (at least once a week) to cook a dinner from my Pinterest board of ideas that reminds me of those dinners (major appreciation for my busy working mom getting a hot, fresh and really nutritious dinner on the table 6-7 nights/week!).

This week, I’m trying a recipe I had pinned from The Everygirl, but which is actually from Gwyneth Paltrow’s new cookbook, “It’s All Good“. The recipe is “Curried Cauliflower and Chickpeas”. I modified the recipe only ever so slightly, in the kinds of mustard I used and in that I didn’t have white wine vinegar, so I used lemon juice instead.

  • 1 large head cauliflower, broken into florets
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 14-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard (I used a really coarse one from Maille – yum)
  • 1 tablespoon honey mustard
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger (fresh if you have it!)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped Italian parsley
  • coarse sea salt

Serves: 4 / Calories per serving: 295 / Prep time: 5 min / Cook time: 40 min

I loved how inexpensive this was! I already had most of the ingredients on hand, and only had to buy cauliflower as a more unusual (but still much loved) grocery item!

The recipe itself is really simple. Preheat the oven to 425F. Combine 2-3 tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper, and curry and toss it in a big bowl with the cauliflower. Then, spread the cauliflower on a lined baking sheet, and bake for 20 min. While that’s going, rinse the chickpeas and set them aside. In a small bowl, combine the mustards, honey, ginger and lemon juice.

Once the 20 minutes are up, add the chickpeas to your baking sheet and bake for another 20 minutes. If (like me) you’re already starving at this point, start your meal with a mixed greens salad!

When the cauliflower and chickpeas are nice and roasted, put them back in the big bowl and toss them with the honey & mustard mixture. Add the parsley and serve warm.

Here’s my final version:

image (7)

I thought it came out pretty good! I used yellow/orange cauliflower (mostly because it was on sale for $1 at the grocery store!) but I thought it made the dish look great. I would definitely make this again, and I easily have enough for lunch tomorrow. Win-win.

(top image via)

Leave a Reply

