Back!

a1b50029d29c63242481e5c16319d5a9

Image via

Well, that was a longer-than-planned hiatus from updating this blog.

Long story short, medical school, training, and the craziness of life kind of got the better of me and I didn’t really make time for posting. But, every year I make a list of goals for the new year… you could call them resolutions but I prefer to think of them as more structured. This year, one goal is writing! I signed up for an online creative writing class, but I also figured that the best way to get better at something is to practice, so I’m setting what I think might be a lofty goal for myself to post here three times per week. I’m aiming for Sunday/Tuesday/Friday, so we’ll see how this goes.

A lot has happened in the past year, and 2015 is going to be another big one. A quick recap since April:

I spent the summer on ob/gyn, then pediatrics, then family medicine. I took a brief two-week elective in August, and then headed into internal medicine. That’s all a bit of a blur, because through it all, I was racing and training a lot.

2014 races: 3x 10km, 3x sprint triathlon, 1x olympic duathlon, 1x half marathon, 1x half IM.

The half ironman was a bit of a surprise! Back in April I was training a bit, mostly planning to use triathlon as a means of cross training for running. I totally got sucked in, though! Now I work out with the same group (the Koalas) several days a week, and was convinced to sign up for the Niagara Falls Barrelman, a half IM distance race in late September. Let’s just say that when I signed up I was wayyyy undertrained, and that fear motivated me to swim, bike and run my butt off all summer :). To my complete shock, I placed highly enough at that event to qualify for the national team, so the big race for 2015 will be in Motala, Sweden, where I’ll race for Canada at the ITU long course triathlon world championships. Pinch. Me. How did this happen?!

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 11.51.23 PM

More about Sweden, team Canada and triathlon to come in the next few weeks, promise. Rounding out the rest of 2014 was my psychiatry rotation, then a month spent working in Vancouver, followed by two weeks in Toronto, a whirlwind holiday season and a much needed 4 days in Jamaica for some R&R (ok, ok, and some open water swimming and running… how could I not?).

2015 is going to be big for other reasons, too. In November, I applied to residency. This May, I’ll graduate with my MD, write my Canadian licensing exam, and hopefully take some time off to travel. In July, residency starts!

If you’re still with me, thanks for reading! Don’t forget you can also follow along on Instagram, if you’d like :). See you Tuesday!

 

3 thoughts on “Back!

Leave a Reply

