Currently | 11 Jan 2015

I borrowed this post style from Erin at SweetSweatLife. It seems like if I haven’t been here in a while, a micro-update every once in a while would be a good way to catch back up, right? Right. Here goes!

IMG_2222.PNG

Eating – Everything! (Training will do that to you). But also not everything. Last year I struggled a lot with GI upset while racing, which meant I felt like crap and couldn’t get in as many calories as I needed. During my half IM, I was only able to choke down about 500 cal… and it took me 2km of the run to eat about three pretzel sticks. Not ideal for performance. So, one of my big fitness goals this year will be to get my nutrition figured out. Stay tuned for details about this.

Reading – A mishmash. Mostly textbooks. But also an interesting article about a formula for falling in love. Slowly working my way through Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl. Trying to put Matt Fitzgerald’s Racing Weight into practice after off season and holiday eats. Plus various triathlon-related posts and magazines. Did I mention textbooks? <– Life as a med student.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 5.44.05 PM

Training! So, so happily. After two months of off-season-ing it’s been so nice to get back into solid workouts and a routine of swim, bike, run. Add in some strength training and yoga and I’m one happy triathlete.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 6.05.33 PM

Thinking about a mantra for the year. I really like this one. I think it’s more meaningful than it sounds, and I’m into the idea that we should embrace positivity.

Wishing for summer! This week, I learned that old racing flats + 15km of trails + snow and slush is not an ideal combination. Don’t even get me started about the trainer. I love Canada, but I really hate winter. I know, my life is rough.

Working on my ICU rotation (see reading textbooks, above :). It’s a little scary and pretty tiring and definitely intense. Last week I had to take a nap after work twice. Friday night I couldn’t decide if I wanted to eat or nap first!

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 5.46.56 PM

Prepping for residency interviews (which involves shopping for a new suit, naturally). It’s crazy that I’m going to graduate this spring, and I’m so excited about my first job. In a few days I’ll be leaving on a tour across Canada to interview at different universities. More about this process to come, but for now I got a little spoiled with two new dresses to wear.

IMG_2243.JPG

Missing these lovely ladies. We spent a semester in high school in Italy together, and now we’ve scattered (to Canada, Korea, France, and Germany!). We hung out over the holidays to catch up over homemade arancini. My thoughts this week have been with the girls in Paris (and friends all over the world) in the wake of the Charlie Hebdo attack. Hope you’re somewhere peaceful and safe!

Leave a Reply

