Staying Fit on the Go

IMG_2281IMG_2289

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Decked out for interviews and after a 4 am workout in Vancouver

Hello from beautiful Victoria, BC! I flew in this morning from Vancouver (bumpiest. ride. ever. I am so glad to be on solid ground). This CaRMS tour for me is:

  • 23 days
  • 10 flights, 5 car trips and 3 train rides
  • 11 cities
  • 21,000 km
  • 1 carry-on bag + 1 briefcase

If you’re still catching up on what CaRMS is and why Canadian medical students are running all over the country right now, check out my post about it! Oh yeah and world championships? That’s going to be 154km of swim, bike and run, and it’s happening in 5 months, 1 week and 4 days! Not a lot of time to slack off :).

One of the first things that people ask me when I tell them that I’m a full time medical student and an elite athlete is, to be blunt, “how is that possible?”. Honestly, there are a few key things about this combination. The first is that no matter how you slice it, both roles take a lot of time. So there isn’t a ton of room in my life for many other things, but I make this work. Once I’m back in KW, hopefully I can write a “day in the life” post to show you!

Mostly, though, it’s about being organized, prepared and disciplined. I schedule things pretty obsessively. I actually used to be much more rigid about this, but life in medicine has given me a lot more adaptability. I still have my normal schedule of workouts listed in TrainingPeaks for the next three weeks. The difference is, I’ve given myself permission to miss a few and be okay with it. My goal for all this travel is to get in at least one workout every day that it’s possible. I splurged a tiny bit and only booked hotels with some basic fitness equipment.

This morning I snuck in a quick strength session in my hotel room at 4 am (thank you, jet lag!) and then went for a beautiful run on a trail when I got to Victoria. Tomorrow I’ll interview and head to Edmonton – better enjoy this warmer weather while I can :)

Over the next few weeks, I hope to share some more of the tips and tricks that I use to stay fit on the go. Stay tuned for posts about workouts, the challenges of packing for a trip like this, and navigating the nutrition. If I can do it, anyone can!

What’s the hardest part of fitting in workouts for you? Do you wish you had strategies for training while travelling light and lots?

As always, you can follow along with my adventures and workouts on Strava and Instagram!

3 thoughts on “Staying Fit on the Go

  1. I can’t imagine only doing a carryon – that’s impressive! I’m packing for a business trip, I leave tomorrow, and packing some resistance bands, running shoes, workout gear, a swimsuit in case my hotels have pools, and things like that. It seems to be taking half my suitcase!

  2. Thank fully, I don’t need to travel that much for work, but my way to fit in workouts into busy days is to get up and do them first thing because something ALWAYS comes up later in the day.

    You are such a champ! Thanks for reaching out.

  3. Wow! That’s a lot of travel! So impressed that you’re traveling so light! Important thing is to make sure clothes (and other things) are multi-purpose. If you can use somethign for more than one activity, just means you can pack one thing rather than two! I also always pack my highest quality workout clothes because they typically dry the fastest- so, I can hop in the shower after my workout with the workout clothes on, wash them all down, hang them up when I’m done and they’ll be dry the next morning for the next workout! Like Jessica said, am workouts are key- something ALWAYS comes up in the evening. Finally, I’ve found that it’s so important to research local pools, spin studios, gyms, etc. so that I have an idea of what I can and can’t do while I’m in a certain place and can plan my workouts around what is and isn’t available. Good luck! Can’t wait to follow along!

Leave a Reply

