Training on the Road Part 2: Workouts

You planned, you packed, and somehow you’ve arrived in one piece. Great! Now, all you have to do is figure out what your workout’s going to be, where you’re gonna do it, and how you’re going to fit it in. Yikes.

IMG_2311

On the schedule: long ride. What I did: not a long ride :)

Over these past few days, I’ve tried really hard not to beat myself up about missed workouts – and I did miss just about every one of the workouts that were planned. I did manage to do a quick run + abs most days, so I think that brings me to my first point:

1. Do what you can

Obviously while traveling you won’t have the time or equipment to do everything you normally would – I think that’s ok. You need to be realistic about how much you’re planing to travel and what that will mean for your training goals.

IMG_2309

5 mi – thanks Goodlife YYZ!

2. Upgrade your memberships

Lots of popular gyms, like Goodlife, where you might already have a membership, have plans that allow you to use any gym in the country. I asked about this and was given a few weeks at a nominal cost. It allowed me to sneak in a quick run at the airport Goodlife while waiting for a delayed flight – that’s 5 more miles than I would have done otherwise!


IMG_1923IMG_1942

Beautiful views while running with the Kitsilano Running Room ladies

3. Use free trials + community groups

Local run groups in Vancouver were a total lifesaver! By the time I was done with work and itching to run, it was dark out. Combine that with not knowing the city, and I was a bit wary of going for a run. The running room has free Run Club community runs every Wednesday and Sunday – this is an awesome way to run safely, meet other runners and get to know the city!

Similarly, I was able to take advantage of classes at spin and yoga studios by using a free trial. Since I was only going to be in the city for a day or two, I could just go to a different class every day. This just takes a little googling ahead of time.

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 9.32.12 PM

Click the photo to download these workouts from Women’s Health. They have an app too!

4. Tearaway cards

You know those little workout cards that come in magazines like Self or Women’s Health? Keep a stack of them in a small ziplock baggie. They’re often designed to use body resistance only, and I’ve found that you can get a really good strength workout in that way!

5. Make friends with youtube

Of course, if your hotel has wi-fi, your options for workout videos are pretty endless. Some of my favourites are here, here and here!

That’s all I’ve got :). 

How do you fit in workouts on the go? 

2 thoughts on “Training on the Road Part 2: Workouts

  1. Pingback: Training on the Road Part 3: Nutrition | HappyCrazyFastLife

  2. Pingback: Motivation Monday and The Final Countdown | HappyCrazyFastLife

Leave a Reply

