Week 5: Done!

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 11.51.56 PM

i just ordered my 3rd and 4th pairs of fastwitch 6’s, but the new saucony zealot iso’s look cool!

When this post goes live I’ll be on my way to Montreal for the final leg of this tour! I can’t wait to see one of my best friends from undergrad – she got me through long nights at the library and and can out-cycle me any day of the week.

Still mostly running this week! Back to the normal balance soon.

Wednesday: Impromptu rest day after interviews went way late. I debated heading straight to the gym when I got home at 9.30, but I was craving dinner –> shower –> bed, so for once I listened to my body and called it a night.

Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 11.47.08 AM

Thursday: I was feeling a bit guilty about missing the Wednesday workout, but I had a day off from interviewing. Perfect for a double run day. Started the morning off with 4 mi outside (tempo-ish) run  in Waterloo, then speedwork on the treadmill in Ottawa. I modified a treadmill workout posted by Christina: 8 min warm up, 10 x 2 min hard, 2 min easy (for me that’s 9/6 on the treadmill), 4 min cool down. It was killer – 6.3 mi! Total milage for the day = 10.3

Friday: So, my ankles, especially the right, have been a bit sore lately. Thursday I iced them at night, and Friday I decided to take it a little easier. 4 mi @ 8 min/mi. No spin bike at the hotel in Ottawa :(

Saturday: Still sore on the ankle front, and -30 degrees (!!!) meant treadmill again. 4 mi at 8:00 min/mi.

Sunday: Long run day! It was really cold out so I met my coach for a hilly 10 mi. I’d planned to do another 3 on my own but couldn’t face any more wind. Still, though, I’m so glad to be outside again :). I taped up my ankle taped for this run, which definitely helped a bit.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Happy and not sweaty – aka the “before” shot of Monday’s brick :)

Monday: Finally acknowledged that I’m a triathlete and not a runner :). Hit the spin bike for 45 min in the pain cave + a 2 mi run off the bike. We got a bunch of snow overnight – the universities were closed and the streets were super snowy so there was no chance of running outside. I was really happy to have run in the morning on Sunday!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

 

a foot of snow and -25 degrees but at least it was sunny!

Tuesday: I’m just able to catch a Koalas practice before heading to Montreal for the last leg of the tour tonight. Swim will be ~1600m and I’ll do an easy 4 mi run right after.

Total miles: 34.3 (running) + 16.7 (cycling) + 1 (swimming) = 52

I’m looking forward to getting back to being more well-rounded with my workouts once I’m home for good. Time to ramp up the cycling I think! If I can do that while holding the running mileage and swimming at least twice per week I’ll be a pretty happy camper.

 

5 thoughts on “Week 5: Done!

  1. Alyssa

    that would be lovely! I think a bit of travel is going to put a wrench in my early summer racing, but it would be so nice to meet you – let me know if you’re planning any :)

  2. Nice job this week, especially while traveling. I hope your ankles don’t give you too much trouble. Thanks for linking up with my weekly review. I love seeing your training and journey. Have a great week ahead. xo

  3. Pingback: Refridgee-8er 2015 Race Recap | HappyCrazyFastLife

Leave a Reply

