Double Digits! Training Week 10

Hello! I’m a little bit late with this Tuesday training update, but still going full steam ahead with training for worlds :)

IMG_3171

 giant cookie my aunt brought over this weekend :)

 I’ve been struggling a bit to juggle training with lots of celebrations and weird scheduling that have been happening since I matched to a residency program last Wednesday. Suddenly I’m realizing that in a very short period of time I’ll need to write my licensing exam, graduate from medical school, move across the country, and – oh yeah – race the longest distance I’ve ever attempted. deep breath :)

Good news is the weather is really turning around! We’ve had lots of sunshine, temperatures above zero, and longer days! I love Spring and Summer so I’m pretty pumped for Winter to be done.

Wednesday I got my match results on Wednesday, and after freaking out/calling my family/letting it settle in, I decided to go for a workout and let myself process everything. I ended up doing a nice 1:00 ride at even pace, a 5k treadmill run, and some stretch/strength. I’m so glad I checked out for a few hours and got myself centred before meeting up with my friends and classmates and getting sucked into all the excitement.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 post treadmill run – still taping my ankles most days

Thursday Well, Thursday was a bit interesting since I was still recovering from Wednesday night :). I missed the Koala’s practice because I worked a bit later than usual. Finally dragged my butt to the treadmill around 8 pm for 4 miles. I felt good afterwards but they weren’t pretty.

Friday I felt much more like myself on Friday, but we had a big celebration scheduled in Hamilton with the entire graduating class, so I took a rest day. With all the running around I did at work, then dashing home to get ready, and making the trek to Hamilton, I feel like I was on the move enough. According to my FitBit, I clocked just about 13,000 steps for the day. 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

taking my post-workout smoothie game very seriously

Saturday After driving home from Hamilton and getting my life somewhat organized (clean! laundry! groceries!) I got my workout started slightly late. I ended up doing 1:45 on the trainer at even pace. This was so. incredibly. boring. I know a lot of people who watch movies or TV shows while on the trainer, but somehow that’s not quite enough to distract me from the fact that I’m slightly uncomfortable. I’m also not a big movie/TV person, so that would be a long time for me to watch even if I was sitting on the couch.

After the bike I did 4 mi on the treadmill/elliptical. I’m still dealing with some ankle pain (that’s why they’re taped in the Thursday pic), so I figured splitting my run with the lower impact elliptical made sense.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset   IMG_3170

bright and early at the gym & taking car selfies in traffic

Sunday Sunday morning I got started bright and early – hence the crazy hair :). I was supposed to do a long run, but I was feeling fatigued from the week’s events, plus the ankles, so I just did 9.2 mi on the treadmill/elliptical. I felt good! Later that day my sister picked me up and we drove to Hamilton to get my cousin (who’s at McMaster) and the three of us goofed off for the entire drive home to celebrate the match and my sister’s birthday.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

 post sufferfest. at least i got to wear a pair of my SOAS tri shorts!

Monday Ohhhh, Monday. I had a bike/run brick planned, but after the boredom of Saturday’s bike I felt like I needed to change it up. I loaded up a Sufferfest video (the Hunted) from Strava and got started. OMG – they are not kidding about the suffer part. The description for this video is “A 20 minute climb followed by the worst 5:00 known to mankind”. When the ride was done I pretty much just sat on the floor and tried to stay alive. Eventually I got myself onto the treadmill for a quick 1 mi to find my legs, and then I crawled home to shower and sleep. LOL.

Tuesday Late for the Koala’s workout, so I only made it to 20 mins of the swim. Instead of interrupting the group, I just jumped in the lane next to them and cranked out 1000 m. Afterwards, I did an easy 7 km on the treadmill.

Totals Swim: 1000 m / Bike: 3:45 (78.2 mi) / Run: 25.6 mi

Once again I’m happy-ish with the volume but I definitely need to swim more and I would have liked to see 30 for the run. But – progress, not perfection, right? As always, you can see more on Strava and IG!

How was your week? What do you do to stay entertained during long rides on the trainer?

Leave a Reply

