Lately | 14 March 2015

Happy weekend! For some reason this week seemed like a long one :). Here’s a little update of life lately around these parts.
IMG_3200

Enjoying morning coffees and a nice start to the day before I go into work. Some people tell me that it’s crazy to get up extra early, and while I do love sleep, I also love easing into things with a good cappuccino and a newspaper or (if my brain really needs to warm up) my instagram feed.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetTrying Rumble supershake! I won a whole bunch of Rumble (which comes in Vanilla Maple and Dutch Cocoa) from Jessica’s giveaway on Laces and Lattes. Thursday, it came in the mail just in time for me to down a bottle after working out and before heading back to work. I like Rumble because of their philosophy on food – what we put into our bodies matters. Plus, now I can attest to the fact that they taste good! The shakes have 250 cal, 20g of protein and 8g of fibre. They’re also non-GMO and made with ingredients that are real foods. The only thing I would say about them is that I really prefer them cold. I stuck one in my bag on Friday and ended up having it for lunch between surgical cases, and it really wasn’t as good at room temperature. But not a big deal at all.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Also trying Quest peanut butter cups. All I have to say is yuck. If Rumble was the perfect protein solution, these PB cups are the opposite of that. They’re so chalky you can barely swallow them, and they taste terrible. Some people have pointed out that when you’re basically trying to make candy that has almost no carbs and is full of synthetic protein, you probably need to lower your expectations, but seriously – these are barely edible.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetWorking on strength workouts in general. Long story short, my body is starting to tell me that I can’t just run all the time without putting in the legwork (haha).

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 11.26.53 AM

You – you alone will have the stars as no one else has them…In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars were laughing, when you look at the sky at night…You – only you – will have stars that can laugh

Loving a collection of some of my favourite pieces of literature. I’m sensing a new addition to my gallery wall

Reading A few things, as usual. Just finishing To Kill a Mockingbird so I’m all set to read the sequel when it’s released. Next up is Self-Help, and The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing, both of which came recommended by Caroline. I also just bought my Mom Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake for her birthday, which I fully intend to borrow when she’s done :). Finally, I loved this piece in the Washington Post this week: Exhaustion is Not a Status Symbol. More and more I have been realizing that it’s ok to take a break. Sometimes, especially when I’m in the OR, I feel like exhaustion is a part of the culture – if you’re not tired, you must not be working hard enough. Every once in a while it’s nice to be reminded how silly that is, and that it’s ok (and normal!) to take a break. Last but not least, my thoughts are with the Kalanithi family this weekend as they say goodbye to Dr. Paul Kalanithi, Stanford neurosurgeon, and author of this beautiful essay.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Opening Exciting mail! My bike bag just got delivered and I’m in L.O.V.E. with the Canadian red+white. Suddenly Sweden is seeming closer and closer!

Hope your weekend is off to a good start!

 

 

Leave a Reply

