Week 14: The Bikes are Out!

Whew! A really busy Tuesday and Wednesday totally derailed anything close to a timely recap post, but better late than never right? :)

This week was a busy one with heading home for Easter celebrations and the final year OSCE on Tuesday (OSCE stands for Objective Structured Clinical Exam – it’s a practical exam where you are given a clinical scenario, asked to take a history/do a physical exam, then come up with a differential diagnosis for your patient and suggest the next steps/treatment).

Overall, I think the week went pretty well. Some days I am finding that I’m really hungry, and I’m certainly sleeping more, which I think is just my body adjusting to the slightly higher volume. Biking really takes it out of me!

IMG_3478

Wednesday I did my bike/run brick indoors since it was still a little too cool to be outside. I did my usual trainer workout of late: intervals on a 30 minute cycle (6 min WU/6 min L14/3 min L9/6 min L15/3 min L9/6 min L14) – since this was a 90 minute ride, I just repeated it x3 (only did the WU once). Total: 90 min, 33.9 mi

After biking I ran on the treadmill. I always find that the first 5-10 minutes are tough, but once I push through that and find the right muscles I feel great. 32:30, 4 mi.

Finally, I did a little strength workout (mostly core/arms since my legs were wiped).

IMG_3488

It’s hard to tell in this photo, but I’m completely drenched and VERY happy to be back in the car

Thursday In the morning, my friend Jenny and I decided to take advantage of the warm (but cloudy) day and go for a run in the park – we did about 6k. Later in the afternoon, I went to the regular Koala’s workout: 1 hour swim consisting mostly of drills and repeats of 100’s –> 1800m total. After swimming, we did a speed workout that I just was. not. feeling. It had started to rain, and I think I was still getting used to the higher biking volume, and I just couldn’t turn my legs over. The workout was WU / 3 x 1600m fast with 800m recovery / CD. I got it done, but it wasn’t very fast.

IMG_3492

 Koalas fixing fast bikes

Friday Since everyone had the day off for Good Friday, a few of the Koalas got together for the first outdoor bike ride of the season! Yipppeeee! I really don’t like the trainer/spin bike, and even though it was a little cool and I’d forgotten that it’s hard to keep up with those cycling superstars, it was so nice to be outside. We did about 75km (3 hours with a stop for bike adjustments).

IMG_3499

 wearing about 15 layers of cycling gear to keep warm – it was only 1 degree!

Saturday After my Friday ride I was raring to get back on the bike, so I brought it home to Aurora with me and talked my cousin into the coldest 45km I’ve ever biked. I couldn’t feel my toes for about 30 min when I got home, but it was worth it! Lots of hills and sunshine :)

Sunday I left my long run till the end of the day because of Easter family stuff, and I guess I was tired and too full of chocolate because it was the worst run in a while. I originally had 21k planned, but I had to bail at about 16.5. I was feeling dizzy/kind of puke-y and just like I couldn’t push forward, so I finally decided to call it quits :(

IMG_3525

Koach biking into the sunset on Crowsfoot road

Monday I felt a lot better on Monday, so Koach Rob and I took the bikes out to one of my favourite routes, the Maryhill P-loop. Since it was evening and windy, this was another coldddd ride but I’m glad we did it (45 km, 1:50). Earlier in the day I also did my strength workout.

IMG_3496

 post-run/pre-exam brunch of champions!

Tuesday I missed the Koala’s workout because of the above-mentioned OSCE, but I did manage to get a good run in early in the morning: 8 km / 38:30. Now to get back on track!

Totals: Swim 1800 m (1 hour) – oops / Bike 136.3 mi (8:35) / Run 27.8 mi (4:00) + strength (~1 hour) and stretching (~1 hour)

Hope your week is going well! Follow along on Strava here!


One thought on “Week 14: The Bikes are Out!

  1. Pingback: Week 15: Loving the Sunshine | HappyCrazyFastLife

Leave a Reply

