Week 15: Loving the Sunshine

IMG_3608

It’s Tuesday again! This past week has flown by, and I really think it has a lot to do with the weather being so much nicer! Spring in Ontario always seems really short. It’s winter forever, then there is a week of spring, the leaves come out and bam! Summer weather. Can’t wait. This week was a little less active because…

1) I turned 25! On Friday (April 10th). It was also the same day as my med school graduation gala

2) I had to recover from the above mentioned turning 25 ;)

3) I ended up getting a bad cold – I can’t believe it! I haven’t been sick since my pediatrics rotation almost a year ago… I thought my immune system had seen it all.

Here’s how the week played out:

FullSizeRender

Wednesday It was pouring rain, so even though I was so excited about getting the bike outside, it was back to the trainer and intervals for me. I had a 1:30 ride on my plan, and it took me a while to settle into it. Towards the end I found that I had to decrease the intensity a bit (33.3 mi).

After biking I ran on the treadmill to find my legs. Again, once I settled into the run I felt good (3.1 mi).

Finally, I did my strength workout, stretched and just laid on the mat for a bit :)

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Thursday It was rainy again on Thursday but I had a Koala’s workout scheduled so I headed to the pool. Unfortunately, everyone else was either stuck at work, sick or not able to make it, so I swam this one solo. Pros: I was done super fast because there was no one to chat to. Cons: There was no one to chat to! 2050 m.

After swimming I hit the treadmill for a 9km tempo run, but the gym was really hot (and I didn’t know it yet, but I was starting to get sick). I managed 5.1 mi, though not all at tempo pace.

When I got home on Thursday I spiked a fever, so I had a bit of soup and went to bed very early.

IMG_3610 Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Friday My birthday! I woke up feeling quite a bit better, and since I didn’t have anything scheduled for the day it was so fun to be able to do whatever I wanted! I treated myself to a really good coffee, then went shopping, and then met up with my sister. In the afternoon, I did a tempo run (I had a bike ride on the plan but it was crazy windy/stormy) – this run was MUCH better (5.5 mi at tempo pace with some strides thrown in). After that, I got ready for the gala and a bunch of my friends came over to celebrate before we headed out. It was a great night :).

IMG_3606

Saturday Oh boy. I spent the first half of Saturday trying to recover ;). Around noon my sister came over because we had planned to run some errands together. We got smoothies from one of my favourite local places (pure), and that picked me up. Finally around 3 in the afternoon I felt ready to meet up with Koach Rob for a little brick. We headed out to the Maryhill (flat) loop, and for the first 10 minutes I was REALLY slow. I honestly wondered if I was going to have to turn around. I knew I was feeling a bit off but I was surprised that I could be that bad. We came to a stop and I looked down at my bike and there it was – my front brakes totally locked. No wonder I was dying. Once that got fixed I was much better (21 mi). Lesson learned – check your bike before a ride!

After biking we did a little run just to find our legs, but it included a huge hill (1.6 mi) and I was so done!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

in love with the warm weather and my favourite SOAS kit

Sunday Sunday was hands down one of the best days we’ve had in a long time. It was 16 degrees, sunny, and the winds were light. I basically spent as much time as possible outside! The morning started off with my long run. I was still feeling a bit off with early cold symptoms, so I started out slow as I ran into Waterloo. Well, the day was so perfect that I felt a lot better pretty fast, and just enjoyed the run. I ended up doing ~19 km, and at that pace I felt like I could have run another 20.

In the afternoon, I met up with Simon, another one of the Koala’s for a bike ride – we went back to Maryhill since my legs were tired but I ended up doing just over 50km. Perfect day! (33 mi)

At night I barbecued with a few friends and then realized how tired I was – I think I was asleep by 10 :)

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Monday Another great day of sunshine (although a lot more wind) and a much more sniffly, virus-y me. Boo. I got out for a nice ride with a friend to flush my legs, and we kind of went at his pace, stopping occasionally to stretch and say hi to friendly cows. Suits me just fine. 28 mi

IMG_3616.JPG

Tuesday Sniffles or not, I was determined to get back into something today. I couldn’t make it to the Koala’s practice, but the weather was nice again. First I went out with two of my classmates (and best girlfriends) for a run, something the three of us used to do all the time but hadn’t done in ages. It was great!

After that, I headed out for a quick bike ride (33 mi) solo.

Totals: Swim 2050 m (oops again – I’ll fix that this week) / Bike 145.3 mi / Run 32.7 mi  — ~16:30 hours, including stretching 

As usual, follow along on Strava and Instagram if you’d like!

 

One thought on “Week 15: Loving the Sunshine

  1. Pingback: News | HappyCrazyFastLife

Leave a Reply

