Motivation Monday and The Final Countdown

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 11.34.45 AM

shenanigans while relaxing in Stockholm

Hej, hej! I’m in Stockholm today, heading to Motala tomorrow. The big race is 5 days away and… I’m a little nervous and mostly just happy to be here. As I mentioned in my last post, I know that I’m undertrained and life has been crazy lately, and I know it’s going to be a bit of a sufferfest on Saturday. That having been said, I’m loving Sweden.

Yesterday, after I arrived I explored a bit and then met fellow SOAS ambassador Carolin and her boyfriend for dinner. Unfortunately, in the photo below my hair did not get the memo to behave itself and after a few weeks of salt water, sun and sweat it is not happy with me, haha! We ate at an awesome restaurant called Tradition, which serves typical Swedish food. I had Swedish meatballs, duh. SO GOOD.

Me and Carolin! 

It was really nice to have an insider’s take on what to do in Stockholm. This morning I went on a run to Djurgarden, which is a big park/area close to my hotel. Then, I explored, shopped, hung out in a park and generally enjoyed the city of Stockholm. It’s really beautiful!

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 11.34.23 AM

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 11.34.33 AM

 

 

 

 

 

the old town (Gamla stan) and getting my caffeine fix at Espresso House

Sometimes I find it hard to muster up the motivation to train while I’m in a strange place. Earlier this year when I was bouncing around all over Canada, it wasn’t so bad because my hotels had treadmills, and it was easy to ask people for running routes, etc. But when I’m way far from home, the total unfamiliarity + language differences + culture can make it seem overwhelming. In Croatia when I went running people generally looked at me like I was bonkers. A friend explained that in the smaller fishing villages, people tend to be pretty active just living their lives (fishing, working outdoors, etc) so it’s unusual to see someone out running just for the sake of running. Call me crazy :). Anyway, what I wanted to say was that even though it’s hard to find the motivation, once I finally DO get out there, I feel a million times better, and it’s such a great way to see a new place.

I don’t have much else to report other than loving being in Europe again (last time I was here was 2012 – it’s been a while!) and feeling lucky to be exploring such amazing places. A part of me is also looking forward to going home, though, and settling into my life and routine in Vancouver.

More from Motala when I get there! xo

One thought on “Motivation Monday and The Final Countdown

Leave a Reply

