Settled

IMG_4226

It’s been… 25 days since I landed in Vancouver to stay. I’ve finally got (most of) my furniture, unpacked all but two boxes, and found a little bit of calm. I’ve been going for runs along the seawall and really trying hard to make a habit of running in the morning, at least a few times a week.

IMG_4205

I used to work out almost exclusively in the afternoon or evening. I think this is how my body feels best, but it doesn’t mesh well with work — when I knew that I had a workout to get through, it was hard to focus on the end of my day. I was often worried about wrapping up in time to get to the pool or track.

IMG_4210

Mornings, even though they’re a bit painful, mean that I can get everything out of the way before work and not worry if I end up sticking around until 6 or 7.

IMG_4209

Other than that, I’ve been biking around the city, meeting new people and getting used to being “doctor” :).

IMG_4196

IMG_4195I love having the beach nearby, and so much green space in the city!

I’m not sure what my goals for fitness will be during residency. I know that I don’t have the time or energy to train for longer triathlons, but I don’t want to lose the fitness I’ve gained. For now, I’ve been using my bike to get around and running 5-6 days a week. I’m signed up for a fall half marathon, so I’ll decide in the next few weeks if I want to train for it or show up and run.

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 11.33.59 PMThis is a training plan I found online. Seems do-able, and if I can keep up the biking on commutes it might help a bit. I’ll decide in the next few weeks!

3 thoughts on “Settled

  1. Pingback: Vancouver Pride Race Recap (5.75k, 26:06) | HappyCrazyFastLife

  2. Pingback: Just Running and Eating and Camping and Working | HappyCrazyFastLife

  3. Pingback: News | HappyCrazyFastLife

Leave a Reply

