MEC Vancouver 10k Race Report

FullSizeRender (11)

sums up my thoughts on the day

Happy Monday! I’m back with another race report – after last weekend’s 10k (my first in a while) I was looking forward to seeing if I could produce some consistent results. The two races and days couldn’t have been more different, although the times are pretty similar.

Last weekend, there were tons of crowds, a big group of friends, terrible weather and a hilly course I didn’t know. Today, I had cool sunshine, a small local race with few people, and a flat course that I drove to calmly on my own. On paper, it sounds like I should have had an awesome day today.

IMG_4607texted this pic to my favourite Belgian Vancouverite, who ran an incredible race at the Berlin Marathon today! 

When I got to the race start, I picked up my bib (no time yesterday!) and relaxed for a bit before getting warmed up. I know I haven’t ever been great about warming up, but I was wearing shorts and a singlet and just too darn cold not to! haha

Pretty soon it was time to line up at the start. I didn’t want to go too crazy, so I placed myself a few rows back. When the front runners took off, I had to dodge a bunch of traffic to stay with them.


Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 10.52.52 PM

So the first mile was too fast for me, and from the beginning of the third mile on, you can see me starting to blow up. My stomach has felt a bit off all week, and this was the last it was going to put up with. I crossed the finish line fighting major urges to throw up, and ultimately I did a little bit (after the line and into the garbage, thank goodness). I finished as the 5th girl and 11th person overall.

I don’t have much to say about this day other than I felt awful and I pushed through – I think to about my maximum effort. My heart rate was over 170 for almost 6 minutes (it’s 42 at rest, so that’s super uncomfortable).

Afterwards, I drove home and settled down. I was reminded of this quote from a spin class earlier in the week – I definitely would not have been strong enough to push to the same level at this time last year.

IMG_4590

Around noon, I met my sweet running friend at a spinning studio and we had a great 45 minute ride to help get my mind off the race while I flushed my legs a bit. My stomach held up, so we spent the sunny afternoon walking around downtown and then I was finally ready to eat around 4.30. I’m super grateful that she cheered me up so well :) I’m feeling a lot better now and looking SO forward to going to bed. On to the next, right?

One thought on “MEC Vancouver 10k Race Report

Leave a Reply

