Race Recap – Vancouver Pride 5k

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 11.22.42 AM

I’m back with another quick race recap! On Sunday I joined my resident buddies Brian and Moira to run the Vancouver Pride 5k, hosted by the Vancouver Frontrunners. Brian organized the team last year, which was really fun, so I was quick to agree to race again this summer.

Since the race was on Sunday, I knew I’d have to get my long run done after the race (too hot, likely too full of brunch), or some time on Saturday (yes, please). We decided to run “Two Bridges“, which is out from our place over the Lion’s Gate Bridge, across the North Shore on the Spirit trail, then back over Second Narrows, and across downtown to the Canada Place seawall and home. Needless to say, I was a little worried about how my legs would feel after a HOT 27 km, but I was really happy with the long run.

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 11.26.42 AMScreen Shot 2016-07-25 at 11.27.02 AM

**Side note – on my long run my Garmin switched off AGAIN. Even though it had >25% battery left, I had to finish the run with the Strava iPhone app. Me getting frustrated at my watch 18km into a run = not pretty.

2016-07-24 Vancouver Pride 5k 003

Sunday am around 9 Brian and Moira and Jan and I met up at Sunset beach – the race start was set for 9.30. Jan and I walked over since it was a beautiful morning. I was cold (nerves? fatigue?) and didn’t really warm up, even though he really tried hard to get me to. Jan: I promise I will next time :)

Around 9.40 the race started and I ran the first ~1km with Brian and Moira. We chatted for a bit and settled in. I was a bit surprised to find that my legs felt pretty good – definitely not fresh but comfortable enough. I started to pull ahead and tried to keep speeding up throughout the rest of the race.

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 11.27.02 AM

The course was long (again!) and I crossed the finish line in 21:57. I’m not sure what the exact 5k time was, but I’m betting it was <21:00. The time was good for 3rd female overall. It wasn’t an overly competitive race but I’m still happy with the day. Afterwards, we enjoyed some croissants, coffee and bananas.

IMG_0492

The rest of the day was spent running errands, getting ready for the week, and getting some quality Vitamin D on the beach :)

3 thoughts on “Race Recap – Vancouver Pride 5k

  1. Danielle @ Wild Coast Tales

    3rd place, nicely done lady! And after running 27 km. Good for you! I love the pictures of those balloons… and I was going to ask you what route you guys did for your long run. And now I know! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Should I Run a Marathon? – Happy Crazy Fast Life

Leave a Reply

