Should I Run a Marathon?

IMG_7122

Next weekend (as in, 10 days from now) I’m planning to run the Lululemon Seawheeze half marathon here in Vancouver. It will be my 7th half marathon, including 2 that I ran as part of half-ironman’s.

I haven’t gone too crazy with training (I just spent a long weekend in Montreal eating poutine and rehydrating with alcohol) but I’ve really enjoyed some higher running volume.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.40.07 PM

This is (I think) the first time I’ve ever run a consistent 4 weeks of 40+ miles.

IMG_7168 IMG_7146

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In July, I ran just under 300 km – some with friends, some alone, and some as part of races. Mostly I ran 5-6 days per week and almost always included a long run on Sundays. Since my long run friends are all training for fall marathons, I end up running their distances. In the case of July, that worked out to 18, 14, 14, and 17 miles.

IMG_7135

At the end of last week, before we left on our trip to Montreal (more on that later), I was feeling pretty fatigued. It had been 11 days in a row of running and I was a little bit over it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.44.55 PM

Now, though, even after a weekend of throwing away every healthy living rule ever, I feel better. And, I’ve been talking with a few of my favourite running buddies about taking on a new challenge after Seawheeze: the full marathon.

The idea would be to run Sacramento in December. Am I fit enough? I think so. But I can definitely be a competitive person. My questions are – how do you know when you’re ready to tackle the full? How aggressively do you train? What plan do you like to follow? (I started reading Hansons but am very open to ideas).

Basically, internet, I want you to help me figure out if I’m ready to take this on. Thoughts?

4 thoughts on “Should I Run a Marathon?

  1. Danielle @ Wild Coast Tales

    YEAH! DO IT! :) And yes, you are ready to take it on. Just think how many MORE Whole Foods muffins you could justify eating! ;)

  2. Kristina Jenei

    Alyssa! yes! We are all going down to CIM in December and you guys should come too! For marathon, I’m sure Jan has some great advice. Nic had me doing long tempos at marathon pace (4:55-5:00min/km) 14-21km on Tuesday’s and then long runs on Sunday’s up to 38km being the longest (5:30-5:45min/km–> ie should be slowww). I would throw in intervals every now and again on a Thursday (3x3km Seawall repeats) but generally didn’t because of burnout/school schedule. Marathon training is freakin hard!! My Ottawa race didn’t pan out because of heat etc… But hoping for redemption with the same plan as above!

  3. Pingback: A Weekend in Montreal – Happy Crazy Fast Life

Leave a Reply

