A Weekend in Montreal

Last Thursday night Jan and I jumped on a red-eye to Montreal to watch my friends Christie and Jeremy get married. Like I mentioned in my Marathon? post, I was feeling a bit fatigued from crowding all my mileage into the first four days of the week, and I was totally looking forward to a restful weekend and catching up with the hilarious people I went to medical school with. This is a long post. Sorry :).

IMG_7794

We landed on Friday morning and shared a cab to our hotel, downtown. On the way, we stopped to get me a coffee and Jan a croissant. The first thing I noticed this weekend was how hard it was to find non-dairy milk anywhere… no almond milk! (Am I already that Vancouver?)

We had a quick nap and shower and then ran off to meet Christie (to the left of me in the top photo) and Jer. A couple of their friends (Alex and Megan) had flown in a day earlier from Australia, so we did an out-of-towner lunch. We tried to go to Olive & Gourmando, but they told us there was a 3 HOUR (!!) wait for lunch.. no thanks. We found a nearby spot (Maison Christian Faure) which ended up being a perfect spot for eggs benny and a mimosa.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 9.44.55 PM

After that, we met up with my best friend from my undergrad days – Sylvia! She’s doing her PhD at McGill, and it had been 18 months since we’d last hung out (when I was on my interview tour!). She took us through Old Montreal and then up through downtown to Parc Fontaine.

We sat down for a pre-dinner appie at L’Gros Luxe, a vegetarian place nearby. (Guess who chose the spot ;). My friend Zamin had just flown in from Toronto, and joined us for the dinner part. I was so tired from the red eye + full day that I was back in bed by 10.00 :)

SATURDAY

Zamin, Jan and I woke up and went out for a run in a park close to the hotel where we stayed the night before. We were moving to a different hotel that morning, so Jenny (my med school bestie) and Pat (her bf) could join us. While waiting for them to arrive, we had brunch at La Societe. I loved my omelette, but Jan said his breakfast sandwich was so-so.

With Jenny and Pat, we walked around exploring the city for most of the rest of the day. Around 2, we stopped for lunch at Schwartz’s Deli. They had a roasted turkey option for me, but the rest of the crew got smoked meat. I highly recommend getting takeout sandwiches instead of waiting in the long sit-down line and grabbing a nearby bench to eat and people-watch.

We also stopped for a few craft beers (including some trappiste options for the resident Belgian) and got ready for dinner. Zamin turned the big 3-0 last week so we let him choose the place (Pintxo).

DSC02768DSC02775On the way to dinner, we stopped at Christie’s hotel for a glass of champagne with our favourite bride-to-be. Please note the two-story hotel room, including a massive dining table, and the ensuing craziness. 

SUNDAY

IMG_7815 Wedding day! We had nothing to do in the morning, so Jen and I went for a run/walk/catch-up-chat and then met the boys for a very late brunch. We strolled around for a few hours afterwards and then headed back to our hotel room (the five of us crashed in one big slumber party room) to get ready.

DSC02818

The wedding started with cocktails (why don’t all weddings start this way) at the hotel.

DSC02830DSC02807 (1)The boys put on kippahs and we sat down for the ceremony.

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 9.14.29 PM

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 9.16.16 PM Woo hoooo! Jer and Christie were married by a rabbi and family friend, surrounded by their friends and families. The rest of the night was a lot of hugs, dancing, and laughing.

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 9.16.42 PMDSC02879

DSC02878

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anddddd when we got back at 3 am, everybody crashed.

IMG_7896

MONDAY

IMG_7908

We started the day off at a reasonable time, given the Sunday night shenanigans. Jen and Pat were catching a flight, so we had a quick breakfast of bagels from St. Viateur’s. Highly recommend the classique (smoked salmon and cream cheese) on the rosemary+sea salt bagel. Another plug here for taking food to go and eating in the park. DSC02911

After that, I had my energy back and Jan and Zamin and I wandered around more, exploring the plateau and downtown Montreal. Later in the day, we were even brave enough to climb Mount Royal for views (and more beer).

13912878_10102831734458821_2350048398210815651_n (1)

Just after that, Zamin flew home, and Jan and I went back out in search of poutine – traditional french Canadian food to mark Jan’s first visit to Quebec. I got a really good tofu and mixed veggie macro bowl from the Copper Branch, and Jan hit the jackpot with poutine from La Banquise.

DSC02947

TUESDAY

Tuesday morning we had a few hours to kill before leaving Montreal, so we went to the Musee des Beaux Arts. It’s totally free if you’re under 30, and full of really cool exhibits. We just wandered around until I couldn’t handle another second of air conditioning.

DSC02971

After that it was time to get an Uber to the airport! Au revoir, Montreal! And much love to Zamin, Pat, Jen, Sylvia, and of course Christie and Jer – another fabulous weekend in the books.

13873193_10102831736948831_8259614739445558992_n (1)

One thought on “A Weekend in Montreal

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! Looking Back at 2016 and Welcoming 2017 – TriGirlMD

Leave a Reply

