Race Report: The Summer Sprint Trail Race

Hi friends! Who else has Olympic coverage in the background at all times? It’s so much fun (and totally inspiring) to watch these athletes. While Belgium was winning gold on Saturday morning, Jan and I (and our friends Danielle and Alyson) headed to the trails for a fun race. 2016-08-06 MEC North Van 10k 004

MEC puts on a great race series that’s SUPER CHEAP –> the number one thing I care about when doing tune up races. There are no medals or t-shirts, but you get an awesome race environment, really well-marked course, chip timing, and delicious post-race food. What more do you need?! This race was only $15.

2016-08-06 MEC North Van 10k 011We piled into Alyson’s truck, lovingly named Gretchen, Saturday morning. Justttt before getting onto the Lion’s Gate Bridge, we realized Alyson’s phone was missing. We pulled over to the side of the road and ended up finding the (brand new) phone on top of the truck!! So lucky it didn’t fall off (and we didn’t get on the bridge).

2016-08-06 MEC North Van 10k 005We arrived at the base of the Sea to Sky trail, near Lynn Creek, to get our bibs and line up. There was pre-race yoga led by Jeff from Excel with Grace.

Soon it was time to go – Danielle and I placed ourselves in the middle of the second wave (I can practically hear Jan’s voice in my head telling me to start farther up). We headed off onto the trail, which bottlenecked early due to a short segment of single-track.

There’s something good for my racing about chasing people, and I started to pass groups of people in the first two k, before settling into my rhythm. I was running everything I possibly could, only power hiking very technical uphills and a few sets of stairs.

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 2.57.49 PM

The course was 10.5km with 300m of elevation:

At ~10.1 km, I came around a corner to the final stretch and saw Jan taking photos on the side of the trail. My eyes are closed in almost every one of them :)

2016-08-06 MEC North Van 10k 027

I finished in 1:01:23, good for 4th girl overall. I was off of third place by 1:41… I don’t think I could have made that up by starting further ahead, but who knows? Next time I’ll put myself in the first wave :).

3 thoughts on “Race Report: The Summer Sprint Trail Race

  1. Danielle @ Wild Coast Tales

    I didn’t know the truck had a name, amazing! Next time we’ll take Jan’s advice and start further up. I forgot about that bottleneck! That was unfortunate. I like chasing people too! :)

  2. Pingback: Race Recap: MEC North Vancouver 10K Trail Race - Wild Coast Tales

  3. Pingback: Sun Mountain 50k Training Plans – TriGirlMD

Leave a Reply

