Lululemon Seawheeze Half Marathon

IMG_7294

This past weekend I ran the lululemon seawheeze half marathon! Omg what a great race. Everything about the execution of the whole event (and it was an event) was so well done. I’m going to break this up into 2 posts – a “pre-race” post (this one) and a standard race recap, to keep things from getting too long!

I’ll back up to last Fall to start – I had just started seeing Jan, and mentioned to him that I was hoping to sign up for Seawheeze. The race sells out super fast every year, so I was thinking I would have to figure out a way to get to a computer at work. Jan was planning to register as well and offered to sign me up. By the time he’d completed my registration, the race was sold out.

So I had a lot of advance notice about the race, but it was way in the back of my mind. A few months after registering, I received a package in the mail – race shorts! Instead of finisher’s shirts, lulu sends all their runners shorts. Since I’m totally crazy, I didn’t put them on – it’s bad luck to wear the shirt before the race is over!! Spoiler alert though – I’ve now worn the shorts and love them (they’re Lulu speed shorts, which is mostly what I wear anyways). My favourite things are the comfy lining and the zip pocket at the back.

IMG_7302

So the shorts went into my drawer and the race stayed at the back of my mind.. I ran the Rock n Roll half in October (1:41), and then the First Half in February (1:39). The First Half PB was definitely a surprise to me. Through the winter and spring I mostly ran shorter, faster runs during the week and long, slow runs on the weekend. I considered using a training plan, but the chaos of a resident’s schedule seemed to make it more stressful than it was worth.

Somewhere along the way, I started thinking about a goal time for this race. I thought for a while about aiming for 1:35, mostly feeling like it would be ambitious. Sometime in early July, I started saying it out loud, and all of my usual running buddies were more than happy to tell me to go for it. The other piece of advice they gave me, which I LOVED, was don’t look at your watch – run by feel.

IMG_7303

Race weekend came up fast. On Friday afternoon, Jan and I wandered over to the Convention Centre in downtown Vancouver to get my race package. It included my bib, a bike bottle, sunglasses, and a pack of Nuun tabs (not pictured) all packed in a Seawheeze duffel bag.

IMG_7290

The expo featured Nuun, KIND bars, Vega protein, Saje wellness products, and JJ bean coffee. It was fun to wander around in the sunshine!

From Jan's Insta
From Jan’s Insta

Friday evening, I did a little shakeout run (like 15 mins), and got a manicure and massage. The idea was to be as relaxed as possible because ohhh boy was I nervous. We walked over to Denman to get some pasta for dinner. We went to Nook first, but the hostess would barely give us the time of day! (and we go all the time). Lame. Instead, we ended up having a SUPER yummy meal (+1 glass of prosecco for those nerves ;) at Tavola. Win.

We walked home and I went to bed around 10.30, knowing I’d have an early start the next morning.

Check out part 2 here!

One thought on “Lululemon Seawheeze Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: Lululemon Seawheeze Half Marathon Race Recap – Happy Crazy Fast Life

Leave a Reply

