Happy New Year! Looking Back at 2016 and Welcoming 2017

2017-01-01-snowshoe-hike-mt-seymour-153

Happy New Year! I have to admit that I don’t usually go nuts for New Year’s Eve, but I love the new year. It’s the perfect reminder to reset once a year, and I always take the opportunity to look back at the year that just ended and set some goals for the new one. I’ll post soon about those “resolutions” (goals? ideas? plans?) but for now, here’s a quick review of my 2016!

img_6044

Last year, I did a lot of things! We travelled to Thailand, Montreal, Toronto, New York City, Sacramento, and San Francisco. I met my goal to read 15 books. I backcountry camped, ran my first trail race, and moved in with Jan.

img_2004

I spent a lot of time with my favourite people, including family and both new friends and old (Dana + Mark, my parents, Alyson, and Jenny came to visit!).

img_0699-jpg

I passed the final step of the LMCC and accepted a position as the new Sports Medicine Fellow at UBC.

img_7717

Fitness-wise, I ran a lot and PB’ed in the 5k, 10k, half and full marathon (I qualified for Boston!). I hiked a lot. I canoed and snowshoed and cycled and skied. Here’s a recap of my year on Strava!

Since I was on call on NYE, the night was pretty low key. To make the day awesome, though, Jan and I decided we would start the year by watching the sun rise on 2017 from Seymour Mountain. We convinced Sarah and Alyson to join us (the Joffre lakes crew!) and left downtown at 6.15 on New Year’s Day.

2017-01-01-snowshoe-hike-mt-seymour-026

We were at the alpine parking lot by 7.10, and started to snowshoe up. It was absolutely beautiful, very quiet and snowy.

2017-01-01-snowshoe-hike-mt-seymour-029

We arrived at Brockton Point just as the sun was coming up and the city was all pink and lovely. It’s pretty amazing to be the only ones on a mountain at sunrise and is my favourite way I’ve ever started a new year.

2017-01-01-snowshoe-hike-mt-seymour-067

At Brockton point, it was pretty windy (Jan: “It’s a SNOWSTORM!”), so we decided not to go any further. Instead, we headed back down the mountain and we were in Van for brunch at Burdock and Co. (yummy but a little pricey) by 10.30. It’s a pretty easy out and back trip, with small steeper ascents and lots of flatter terrain in between.

2017-01-01-snowshoe-hike-mt-seymour-121

I feel so lucky to be surrounded by awesome people and so much nature. Bring on 2017!

 

One thought on “Happy New Year! Looking Back at 2016 and Welcoming 2017

  1. Pingback: Goals for 2017 – TriGirlMD

Leave a Reply

