Goals for 2017

img_9864-jpg

Do you make resolutions on January 1st? I’ve read lots of different opinions ranging from resolutions don’t work to everyone should make them. For me, the new year has always been a built-in reminder to set some new goals. Sometimes, they’re a bit of a flop (I’m still biting my nails) but in previous years, I’ve developed some great habits from my New Years goals: running, travel, doctoring, my move to Vancouver, and new friendships are all things that have developed from past goals.

I like the idea of calling something a “goal” instead of a “resolution” because I think it seems more practical. For example, “stop biting my nails” really is a resolution. You have to resolve to do it. But a goal is something that you can work towards, and that you can hopefully measure.

Every year, I look at the same four categories and try to set a few goals in each: Health/Fitness, Career/Education, Financial, and Personal/Other. If you’re not sure what goals to set, I really like this exercise to help figure it out.

Here are a few that I’ve chosen for this year:

img_6435

Health/Fitness

  • Run a 50km race (!!) and 5-10 others

  • Run a trail race (besides the 50k)

  • Average 15000 steps/day (average for 2016 was just under 19000)

  • Floss daily for 10 weeks

  • Drink at least one glass of water every day for 10 weeks

Many of my goals are based on the idea that it takes 10ish weeks of consistent behaviour to create a habit. To help measure this, I’m using an app called “Productive“. You set a goal and check it off every day (or week, or month, or however often you want to do something!)

img_6283

Personal and Other

  • Read 15 books (this was just barely achievable in 2016, so I’m not changing the number :)
  • Visit 2 new countries
  • Play outside 12 times (not running) – this is off to a great start with lots of snowshoeing recently!

img_7655

Career/Education

  • Pass the CCFP
  • Publish my research

And that’s it! Are you making any resolutions this year? Do you have any tricks/tips that you use? Do you share your goals with family/friends? xo

3 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. I really like the idea of splitting up goals into different areas of your life. Mine this year are all focused in career and education. Happy New Year!

  2. Pingback: What I’m Reading – 2016 – TriGirlMD

Leave a Reply

