What I’m Reading – 2016

img_8510

I mentioned in my year in review post that I set a goal to read 15 books in 2016 (and just barely hit it). Since then, a few people have asked me what I’m reading, so I thought I’d do a post here. If they’re available, I’ve linked to the book so you can get it on Amazon. The photos in this post are all from Amazon as well.

41o8vogdbsl-_sx321_bo1204203200_Once a Runner This was a really good book about what I think it would be like to be an elite runner. I liked it because I identified a bit with the running part, but felt like my eyes were opened to the elite part. I will say that if you’re not a runner you may not enjoy it as the actual story was slow sometimes. 

51lzfulqnll-_sx320_bo1204203200_Good in Bed This novel is not exactly smart, but it is funny and well done chick-lit. I got it for the plane ride to Thailand and ended up finishing it on the beach. 

51msgttbcal-_sx325_bo1204203200_Brooklyn Loved this story about a woman who emigrates to the USA from Europe. It won a bunch of awards and it’s now a movie. I haven’t seen the acutal film, but the book was really good. One of my favourites for the year. 

downloadEtta and Otto and Russel and James This book was great because it’s so Canadian! If you’re from here you will actually recognize the names of places mentioned. I thought it was sweet and thought-provoking as well, but an easy enough read that I also finished it on the beach. 

download-1Who Do You Love Another Jennifer Weiner chick-lit pick, for the plane ride back to Vancouver (planes make me nervous! I need to be distracted!) 

download-2MWF seeking BFF This was a straightforward story about a woman who moves to a new city and spends a year actually working hard at making new friends. I liked the funny little stories, and it was nice to know that it really is hard (for everyone! not just me!) to make new friends as an adult. 

41qfnhnsncl-_sx322_bo1204203200_ Commencement Story about 4 girls and how they go separate ways after graduating from university. It was ok. I read it in June-ish and honestly can’t remember much more of the plotline. 

41c4dnzc30l-_sx322_bo1204203200_Crazy Rich Asians Really funny book about a wealthy family in China and Singapore – not only perfect if you live in Vancouver, but just a great light read all-around. This might have been another plane pick for me. 

51mrr60eoulChina Rich Girlfriend This is the sequel to Crazy Rich Asians. I read it because I liked the first one! More of the same – easy to read, funny, and a pretty engaging story. 

download-3A Man Called Ove Hands down, my favourite book this year. I liked it so much I bought it for three separate people for Christmas, and I lent it to someone else. I loved the perspective of the old man and the light way Backman weaves his story. 

51fh9uoqtnl-_sx327_bo1204203200_ Internal Medicine A good book because each chapter is its own story – makes it easy to pick up, read, and put down again for a few days. This was a gift from my friend Jenny (also a resident) and is one of the best descriptions of life in residency that I think I have come across. 

41alqsiwqbl-_sx320_bo1204203200_ In Her Shoes Jennifer Weiner again. More plane travel. Ahem. 

51ojgf9wzql-_sx330_bo1204203200_The Expatriates I heard a lot of buzz about this book, so I picked it up in early November. It might have been that marathon training was making me crazy tired (I usually read just before bed), but it took me a while to get into this one. It was ok. 

download-4 The Golden Spruce This is a really great book if you live in BC – it tells the (true!) story of a logger and environmentalist in the early days of the city, and what happens to the famous “golden spruce” on old Masset in Haida Gwaii. Also a bit of a slow start but really liked it in the end. 

download-5 Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes A cute book that I read mostly because it was the cheapest one in the bookstore right before I got on a plane back to Vancouver from Sacramento. Light and funny. 
518qvfq3pzl-_sy346_A Fall of Marigolds
 
Another one of my absolute favourites this year, this book bounces back and forth between the stories of two women. One lives in the early 1900’s and the other in the early 2000’s, but both are equally compelling. I usually find books like that harder to follow, but this one was really well done. Definitely a book I’ve been recommending to friends and family. 

img_6039Finally, I also tried a bunch of new cookbooks this year! My friend Jess invited me to her cookbook club a few months ago, so stay tuned for a review of some of those books to come! (In the meantime, Samantha, who started the club with Alex, doesan amazing job with food blogging in general – you can check out her thoughts here)

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading – 2016

Leave a Reply

