Almond Butter Cookies (Gluten Free!)

I like to think of myself as a generally levelheaded person. However, every once in a while, something (like an EXAM maybe?) sends me totally into orbit.

Over time, I’ve learned that the natural answer to this is taking a mini-break. I’ve already gone for a run today, and the late-night studying had me craving something sweet. Since I’m still working in Sechelt, there aren’t any grocery stores open at 9 PM. I decided to try making healthy-ish cookies with what I had on hand – here’s what I came up with :)

Almond Butter and Oat Cookies

Makes 14 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup rolled oats (in hindsight these are a little oat-y, so if you want to decrease the oats that’s probably fine)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 teaspoons cinnamon (I like more!)
  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Depending on your oats quantity, you might need to add some flour to thicken the batter – you want it to be pretty thick! If you want to keep the cookies gluten free, I think almond flour would work really well!

Combine everything in a bowl. Bake at 350 deg F for 10-11 minutes. Cool and enjoy! 

 

 

One thought on “Almond Butter Cookies (Gluten Free!)

Leave a Reply

