Monday Workout Recap!

Happy Monday! Last week was a bit of a drop-back week in terms of mileage for me but good for intensity. I ended the week with a half marathon on Sunday! Stay tuned for the race recap soon, but for now, here’s how the week went!

Monday Normally I rest on Monday’s but since I was racing at the end of the week, I wanted to squish some mileage into the beginning of the week. I ended up doing 40 minutes (8k) feeling SUPER tired after the 33km from the Sunday before.

Tuesday I had planned to go out for a tempo 12k, but after 6k I wasn’t feeling as good as I’d hoped and took it a little easier on the way back. I averaged 4:28/km on the way out and 4:51/km on the way back. This made me a little bit unsure about my plans for the race on Sunday.

Wednesday I woke up early to do an easy trail run before work. It was SO rainy. Originally I’d planned to go for 17-18k, but called it at 15 since I was drenched. Coffee earned!

Thursday I did a short little run in the early morning on Thursday. The cumulative fatigue from the week was catching up with me, and my work schedule meant I could only run from 6-7 am. 6.5km in the trails was perfect.

Friday Off! This was amazing! A much needed rest day.I didn’t even hit my usual 12,000 step goal, which didn’t bother me at all.

Saturday I had planned a shakeout run (the calendar says 30 minutes easy) but we ended up going for a hike at Smuggler’s Cove, which was low intensity and easy and just what I think I needed.

Sunday Stay tuned for a full race recap later this week, but I ran the Fool’s Half Marathon here on the coast! It was finally sunny and I had a really great day. Spoiler alert: taking a few days off is magical!

Total for the week: 63 km 

How did your week go?

Leave a Reply

