Another Race! Longest Day 5k

If you’ve been reading along for the past week or so, you’re probably wondering how it’s possible that I’m posting another race recap. I promise there’s just this one and then one more and then I’m caught up!

The Longest Day 5k is one of my favourite Vancouver races. It’s almost more about seeing running friends than it is about running fast (but also it’s always a bit about running fast ;).

The race is always on the Friday before the summer solstice, aka the longest day (June 16th this year). It’s out at UBC, and there is a 5k and 10k option. It’s the only 5k I’ve really raced hard in Vancouver, so I’ve been taking the opportunity to test my fitness whenever it comes up. Afterwards, there’s a huge barbecue and everyone hangs out on picnic blankets in the late sunshine.  Last year Jan paced me through the first 3k and I ran it in 20:32. This year I was really hoping to go under 20:00.

This year, my Mom and Dad were visiting so we brought them along to watch. Jan stayed with them while I ran, so no pacer for me. Going into Sun Mountain I didn’t do much speed work, so I wasn’t sure how my time would compare. I had already been at UBC for the day for work, so I just walked over to the start line to get my bib when I was done. After a while, Jan and my parents arrived. I was feeling a bit nervous so I waited til the last minute to get rid of my layers and head to the start. This also meant I didn’t do a warm up, even though Jan tried hard to get me to!

Also, since I came straight from work I’d packed everything that morning anddd… I forgot my watch! I put my phone in the pocket of my shorts so that the run would still be on Strava (crazy, I know) but I didn’t know my pace at all.

The first km turns almost right away and then goes slightly downhill before levelling off. I tried to stay with the little pack I was in but it felt SO FAST. Turns out it was 3:40 – is that my fastest km ever? Might be.

My usual thought process for a 5k is 1 km of running really fast in the beginning, 3km in the middle of just trying to hang on and one more km of oh-my-god-the-finish-line-is-right-there-don’t-barf-its-only-a-few-more-minutes. This race also has a harsh little uphill right after the 2k mark that I really felt.

I did back off on pace a bit for the middle 3k (4:05, 4:18, 4:12) and then used my last bit of gas to run a 3:57 for the final km. I was so glad to be done! There was a tiny bit of barfing (TMI? Sorry.) at the finish line but I got it together pretty quickly and felt a lot better once my HR came down. My mom was a bit shocked – I think for her the line of pushing too hard is way before it comes to that! My final chip time was 20:15… far from my goal of under 20 minutes but significantly faster than last year without much specific work put in. I was a bit annoyed at first but overall am really happy with the new PB.

Of course, the BBQ after the race was awesome (burgers, tons of veggies, ice cream, chips, cookies, and more!)and I more than refuelled from a long day. We went home as the sun started to set and I was in bed by 9.30 – possibly asleep before I was fully laying down! We had an early morning planned – stay tuned for more on that!

As for the race – another fun year! See ya in 2018!

3 thoughts on “Another Race! Longest Day 5k

  1. Pingback: 5peaks Mt Seymour/Golden Ears – TriGirlMD

Leave a Reply

