5peaks Mt Seymour/Golden Ears

I’m finally caught up on race reports! It seemed like I was barely racing at all and then all of a sudden they were back to back. I decided to race the 5peaks Mt. Seymour race as a bit of a last minute fun race – it’s kind of a long story.

Back in May, we went to a fundraiser for some of our running friends. They’d been chosen to represent Canada at the 50k World Championships. It was held in Italy this year, which was super cool and super expensive (flight, hotel, food, etc).

So anyway, the run club they (and sometimes we) run with hosted a big fundraiser. It was a really relaxed evening at our friend Jess’ studio (early childhood education by day, runner hangout by night). We first did a mellow 5k run, then ate a bunch of pizza, had some drinks and hung out. There was a silent auction and a raffle, so of course we had to get in on those, too.

Jan and I both ended up winning raffle prizes (hat + bag + water bottle for me, and shoes for him) but I also entered the silent auction and won… this race!

THEN, we found out that there was still so much snow on Mt. Seymour on race weekend (June 17th) that the race had to get moved to Golden Ears (where I actually raced last year!). So long story short, I found myself driving to a race at 5.45 am, less than 12 hours after a 5k road race, with Jan, my parents, and the ever-adventurous Moira, who agreed to come race as well.

The race itself was classic 5peaks – low key, well organized, really friendly and beautiful scenery. Also need to say that the race director, Solana, was really nice about helping me squeeze Moira into the race (it was sold out and I emailed her the night before begging for an entry!). Seriously, they are so, so great. Definitely recommended if you want some fun trail racing!

I think I was a bit in my head about being tired, and I probably told myself for the first 3-4 km that I needed to just settle into it. I was in third place or so (thanks to some long slow climbs that were very non-technical) for the first half but got caught on the more technical downhill. I finished 5th female overall in 1:18 on a 13ish km course.

It was a fun day overall! Definitely made me think more about being confident heading into a race instead of having to convince myself that I’m fit while I’m on the course. Also note to self for next year/other races- I really don’t need to carry that water on a run <20k… I don’t end up drinking anything!

On a side note, I was SUPER tired last week and took a few days off from running. I was able to hold a faster pace for my long run on Sunday, so hopefully that’s over! Also tried to add more meat/protein and sleep. We’ll see!

Any tips? (Besides sleep more :-) Have you raced 5peaks?

 

Leave a Reply

